My Mideast Punchlines: Resigned to resigning

PA Prime Minister Rami Hamdallah resigned just two weeks after taking office; the Jerusalem Post explains that the cynics were right all along:

Hamdallah discovered that the Palestinian Authority president wants him to serve as a yes-man with no powers,” the source explained. “Abbas wanted a prime minister who would play no role and only carry out orders from the president’s office.”

 Mr. Hamdallah’s technocratic predecessor Salam Fayyad tried to quit multiple times before it finally stuck.

Small Fist(to the tune of Anything you can do, I can do better, Punch & Judy and I want to go home) Hamdallah: I want to resign, I want to resign. Abbas: Oh, no you don’t. Hamdallah: yes I do, yes I do, yes I do…

Jun 23, 2013

Leave a Reply

