My Mideast Punchlines: well, stone me…

In a case of mistaken identity, an Arab couple travelling on a road in Jerusalem came under a vicious attack by Palestinians – because the attackers thought the victims were Jews. The attack took place on the same road, where two-year-old Avigail Ben-Zion was injured by stone throwers this week.
“They tried to pull us out of the car and hit us, it seemed they were intent on lynching us. They tried opening the doors and my wife begged them to leave us alone. She spoke to them in Arabic, and only then did they understand we ourselves are Arabs, and left us alone. I hit the gas and drove away as fast as possible.”
According to him, the youth clearly mistook them for Jews: “me and my wife looked Jewish, even the police officer who arrived, said. ‘At first sight. I was sure you were Jews.” He told us that these types of things happen all the time.”

Small FistThe Washington Post is now brandishing a soft euphemism for terrorism. They call it “political violence”. Well, I’m sure that must make the Arab couple feel much better. I just call it plain old-fashioned anti-Semitism (and please don’t respond by saying that it can’t be because the Arabs are also Semites, an old chestnut if there ever was one).

Leave a Reply

